Lipstick and Fat

The scary but surprisingly nice-outcome-d mid-term drama ends, and International Labor Day vacation ensues. These crazy days I have continuously consumed small portions of alcohol (hello Japanese plum wine and Cuba Libre), went shopping several times with friends, and ate.

The shopping involves half a dozen of cosmetics shops and endless lipstick-trying. The latter climaxed in Sephora, and ended in MAC. I mean I personally like the endless affordable possibilities MAC offers, but after deliberately trying the glittery blue, purple, and grey lipsticks, I suddenly grew weary of all that lip-color drama, and even, for the ensuing half an hour, altogether started to despise my former true love–all incredibly red and dark lipsticks.

I chatter. Because of the terrifyingly fattening effect of my actually beautiful mom jeans and polka dot dress, the more profound problem was actually the all-time dilemma: when dressing, is it more ‘right’ to dress for the occasion, dress to please, dress to perfect the figure, or dress for fun? I have wrote about this a year ago in my “editorial” All Red Herrings, and don’t plan on writing about it again, for it is too subjective a question to snobbishly suggest only one answer.

I have long ago paused my plan to make this blog as literary as the beloved Margaret Zhang’s for lack of time and talent, so I will proceed for now to show you the pictures and stop all this nonsense.

Crop denim jackets are the best.

Leave a comment